top of page

What are the different stages of a menstrual cycle?

There are 4 stages/phases in a menstrual cycle:

  1. Menstrual phase - It begins when someone gets their period. It happens due to lack of fertilization of the egg released in the ovulation phase. The thickened lining of the uterus to support a pregnancy is no longer needed and is shed through the vagina.

  2. Follicular phase - It also begins when someone gets their period so there is some overlap between the first two phases. In this phase, follicle-stimulating hormones are released which stimulates the ovaries to produce follicles that contain immature eggs. The healthiest egg(s) will mature and the remaining will be re-absorbed into the body.

  3. Ovulation phase - The phase when the ovary releases the mature egg(s) which travels down the fallopian tube to be fertilized by the sperm. After a day, the egg will die or dissolve if it isn’t fertilized.

  4. Luteal phase - In this phase, the body prepares for pregnancy. If pregnancy does not happen , the body might display Pre-Menstrual Symptoms (PMS)

Related Posts

See All

Dysmenorrhea is a medical term used for severe cramps and pain in the lower abdomen during or before periods. There are two types of dysmenorrhea Primary; which is caused by the imbalance of hormones

Periods have a lot of symptoms and some of those symptoms involve physical pain such as cramps in the abdomen, lower back, pelvic region and thighs. Sometimes period pain can also manifest as breast p

Typically a menstrual cycle can last for 28-35 days however, this is a general rule and may differ from people to people. Menstrual cycle is process of changes the body goes through in preparation of

bottom of page